KU Newsletter (june 2016)
KU Chosen for the PRIME Project by the National Government

On May 3, Konkuk University (KU) announced that it was selected by the government to participate in the Program for Industrial Needs-Matched Education, also known as the PRIME project. Higher education institutions receive incentives for restructuring and training students to meet the society’s needs under the project. Of the 75 universities that applied, KU, Ewha Womans University, and Hanyang University’s ERICA campus and 18 other universities were chosen. As a result, KU is expected to receive up to 450 billion won in government funding over three years until 2018. More than 15% will be allocated for scholarships, and a significant portion will be used to improve educational programs and build infrastructure.

In 2017, KU plans to found the “Konkuk Institute of Technology,” “Sanghuh College of Bioscience,” and “Multidisciplinary Undergraduate Program for Software.” New departments adapted to industries with greater potential will be established. Engineering-related departments, which are currently dispersed across a number of KU’s undergraduate colleges, will be combined and the total number of students will increase to 1,217.

The Konkuk Institute of Technology. will have eight departments, including stem cell generation, biomedical science, cosmetics, future energy, smart ICT, system biology departments, with 333 new students. The center will also offer a 4+1 Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree program, through which all students will receive a scholarship for their graduate education as well as a stipend of 300,000 won per month for book purchases and research. The registration fee for all incoming students will be waived.

The biological sciences and engineering departments within the College of Animal Bioscience & Technology, College of Life & Environmental Sciences, and College of Bioscience & Biotechnology are to be merged into the “Sanghuh College of Bioscience.” Named after KU’s founder, Dr. Seok-chang Yoo, the new college will include seven departments with 275 new students and 50 faculty members and is scheduled to become the largest undergraduate college for bioscience in Korea.

The College of Information & Communications will turn into the “Multidisciplinary Undergraduate Program for Software.” The current Division of Internet & Multimedia Engineering will become the Department of Software, and the total number of students at the Division of Computer Science & Engineering will increase to 143.